Modelling and Measurement of Competencies of Engineering Mechanics in the Training of Mechanical Engineers.

Project description

Based on curriculum analyses of Engineering Mechanics, two survey instruments will be developed: The first instrument serves to balance the educational periods for the areas of statics, mechanics of the materials and dynamics and can be applied for comparative studies at an institutional level (summative assessment). The second instrument provides deeper information for the area of statics in terms of the differences between required learning target and attained state of learning which can be used for the shaping of instruction (formative assessment). Competency levels will be identified for the test of summative assessment. With the aid of the results on the formative test, it will be verified whether it is possible to identify typical competency profiles in students via the dimension categories. The study is organized into the phases of identification of curriculum content and systematization (1), item construction and quality control (2), piloting (3), review of items (4), main survey (5) as well as data analysis and identification of the results and their documentation (6). Five specific methods will be applied for this task. The sample will encompass 900 students per instrument at a minimum of five universities (of applied science).

Project data and contact information

Duration: 01/04/2012 - 31/03/2014
Support code: 01PK11012A
Contact person: Sabine Köster ( Sabine.koester[at]uni-bremen.de)
Dr. Frank Musekamp ( musekamp[at]uni-bremen.de)
Dr. Norbert Burkardt ( norbert.burkardt[at]kit.edu)

Project director

Prof. Dr. Georg Spöttl, Universität Bremen

Cooperation partner

Prof. Dr. Albert Albers, Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Prof. Dr. Reinhold Kienzler, Universität Bremen

Staff members

Dr. Frank Musekamp, Universität Bremen
Dr. Mostafa Mehrafza, Universität Bremen
Dr. Norbert Burkardt, Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Dr. Andreas Saniter, Universität Bremen
Jan Breitschuh, Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Tarak Turki, Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Prof. Dr. Moritz Heene, Ludwigs-Maximilian-Universität München