Lectures – [JOGU]StINe

Please note: Scheduled times for lectures might be outdated. Any changes due to the semester kick-off meeting or internal appointments are incorporated into the room reservation plans.

Vorhersagbarkeit von Wetter

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Volkmar Wirth

Shortname: 08.110.8002
Course No.: 08.110.8002

Contents


  1. Order and chaos in meteorology
  2. Deterministic versus probabilistic approach
  3. Basic concepts from dynamical systems theory
  4. Sensitive dependence on initial conditions
  5. Error growth in multiscale systems
  6. Measures of errors
  7. Ensemble prediction
  8. Seamless prediction

Requirements / organisational issues

This course assumes that you have a general familiarity with atmospheric dynamics, linear algebra as well as partial differential equations.

Recommended reading list

Palmer and Hagedorn (2006): Predictability of Weather and Climate. Cambridge University Press

Digitale Lehre

This course will most likely be taught using MS-Teams. You are encouraged to attend the (digital-but-) live sessions, ask questions and contribute to the discussion. In addition, the sessions will be recorded and hand-written notes will be provided.

Dates:

Date (Day of the week)TimeLocation
04/14/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
04/21/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
04/28/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
05/05/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
05/12/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
05/19/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
05/26/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
06/02/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
06/09/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
06/16/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
06/23/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
06/30/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
07/07/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude
07/14/2021 (Wednesday)08.30 to 10.0005 114 Seminarraum 537
1341 - Naturwissenschaftliches Institutsgebäude

Semester: SoSe 2021