Our previous successes

The network of the leading immunologists in Mainz in cooperation with external partners from Germany and foreign countries showed first successes. Numerous third-party funded projects are realizes inside the FZI. A new research building will be constructed and the members of the FZI are called to leading national bodies.
Third-party funded projects:
  • TRR 355: "Heterogeneity and functional specialization of regulatory T cells in distinct microenvironments" (Spokesperson Prof. Dr. Ari Waisman)
  • CRC 1292: "Targeting convergent mechanisms of inefficient immunity in tumors and chronic infections" (Spokesperson Prof. Dr. Hansjörg Schild;  Vice Spokesperson Prof. Dr. Tobias Bopp)
  • CRC 1066: "Nano-Dimensional Polymer Therapeutics for Tumour Therapy" (Spokesperson Prof. Dr. Stephan Grabbe)
  • CRC-Transregio 156: "The skin as sensor and effector organ, orchestrating local and systemic immunity" (Co-Coordinators in Mainz: Prof. Dr. Stephan Grabbe and Prof. Dr. Hansjörg Schild)
  • CRC-Transregio 128 “Initiating/Effector versus Regulatory Mechanisms in Multiple Sclerosis – Progress towards Tackling the Disease” (Speaker: FZI-member Prof. Dr. Frauke Zipp)
  • BMBF Cluster for Individualized ImmunoIntervention (CI3)
  • ERC Advanced Grant “FibroImaging” (FZI-member Prof. Dr. Dr. Detlef Schuppan)
  • ERC Starting/Cosulidator Grant "NutrImmune" (FZI-member Prof. Dr. Andreas Diefenbach)
  • research building (Paul Klein Center of Immunointervention - PKZI) under construction (Art. 91b Abs. 1 Nr. 3 GG)
  • SFB 1066 “Nanodimensionale polymere Therapeutika für die Tumortherapie”
  • Neurokine (EU FP7 Integrated Training Network – ITN, Coordination Prof. Dr. Ari Waisman)
  • DFG-Priority Programm 1937: "Innate Lymphoid Cells" (Coordinator Prof. Dr. Andreas Diefenbach)

Speaker- and memberships:

  • Speaker of the working group "T Cells: Subsets and functions" of the German Society for Immunology (DGfI): Prof. Dr. Tobias Bopp
  • Speaker of the working group "Infection Immunology" of the German Society for Immunology (DGfI): Prof. Dr. Ger van Zandbergen
  • Member of the National Academy of Sciences LEOPOLDINA (Prof. Dr. Frauke Zipp)