International Field School: Water Governance and Interdisciplinary Research Techniques in Post-Conflict Are

Organizing Partners

College of Social and Economic Studies, University of Juba

The University of Juba is the first institution of higher education in South Sudan and looks back on a long tradition. After the initial establishment of the college in 1977 the university was influenced in its formation by the armed conflict and moved to Khartoum in the late 1980ies. As a result of the signature of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement in 2005 the University of Juba gradually began its relocation. In 2011 also the local partner for the field school, the College of Social and Economic Studies, returned. As the college offered a pool of highly educated human resource for recruitments to positions in the Governmental or United Nation Agencies, one of the main goals for the department is the training and recruitment of new teaching assistants. South Sudan’s fighting since mid-December 2013 has caused serious problems for the young state and claimed many lives and displacements. Nevertheless, our cooperation partners from Juba proceeded with their ambitions to build up a Higher Education System in the country.

Faculty of Economics and Business Administration / Goethe University Frankfurt

The Faculty of Economics and Business Administration at Goethe University is considered one of the most renowned in Germany. Currently the faculty offers two bachelor and seven master programs with more than 4,700 students being enrolled. The department is divided in seven teaching and research departments, which in total counts fifty-four full-tenured professors. The expertise of the faculty in the field of development economics is concentrated in the Department of Applied Econometrics and International Economic Policy, where three chairs are dedicated to the topic, with particular focus on the generation and quantitative analysis of data from developing countries for policy impact evaluation.

Chancellor College, University of Malawi

The University of Malawi was established in 1964 and comprises five constituent colleges namely Chancellor College in Zomba, Malawi Polytechnic, College of Medicine in Blantyre and Bunda College of Agriculture and Kamuzu College of Nursing in Lilongwe. Of the five colleges, the largest is Chancellor College in Zomba with five faculties: Science, Humanities, Law, Social Science and Education. The vision of the University Malawi is to provide relevant world-class education, research and services for sustainable development.


LASDEL (Laboratory for Studies and Research on Social Dynamics and Local Development) is a laboratory for social science research. The institution was established in 2001 in Niamey and mainly conducts empirical analysis of public spaces and the delivery of collective or public goods in Africa. LASDEL has two branches offices: one in Niamey, Niger and one in Parakou, Benin. The institution contributes to the constitution of centers of excellence in social sciences within Africa. LASDEL disposes of a broad scientific network and teams in Africa and Europe and is also a host for PhD students and researchers from the South and the North.