DAAD Research Fellowships for postdoctoral junior scientists enable research stays abroad for further qualification after the promotion. The scholarships are available for all scientific disciplines and worldwide. They are awarded for a period of three to 24 months.

The Feodor Lynen Research Fellowship of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation supports German junior researchers of all disciplines who plan research stays abroad. The duration of the fellowship is six to 24 months for postdoctoral researchers (up to four years after graduation) and 6 to 18 months for experienced researchers (up to twelve years after graduation).

The Leopoldina postdoctoral scholarships of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina are for junior scientists from the natural sciences and the medical field and support stays at research institutions abroad for one to three years. Find more informations here.

The Emmy Noether Programme of the DFG enables junior researchers of all disciplines to gain scientific independence early in their career and to establish their own research groups in order to prepare for a university-teaching career. In the case of a positive assessment, support is initially for three years, with the option of an two-year extension. The DAAD provides more information here.

DFG Research Fellowships enable junior scholars of all disciplines to carry out a defined research projects abroad. These fellowships support junior scientists with a PhD, for up to two years. The DAAD provides more information here.

The Marie Curie Actions of the European Commission have a number of geographical focuses: Support is available for stays of one to two years in an EU Member State or in an Associated State (Intra-European Fellowships for Career Development, IEF), or in an institution in a third country (International Outgoing Fellowships for Career Development, IOF). Support is available for researchers at the PhD level with at least four years of research experience.