Electron Crystallography School 2015 – ECS2015 will take place on

28-31 August 2015, in Poreč*, Croatia.

The school is organized as a satellite event to European Crystallographic meeting – ECM29 in Rovinj, Croatia, 23-28 of August 2015. The school intends to cover main directions of contemporary research in the area of electron crystallography. The lectures are designed to meet the needs and interests of participants with diverse background – materials science, physics, chemistry, geology and biology. The participation in the school is granted with one ECTS credit point.

The program of the school comprises 3 days of lectures and tutorials and is structured as follows: each of the three days, a set of 4 lectures are given during each morning while the afternoon sessions are devoted to tutorials. The first day lectures are devoted to basic crystallography concepts and specifics of their application to electron diffraction. The second day lectures cover the structure solution methods and their use for structure analysis based on electron diffraction data. The third day lectures deal with specific crystallographic problems – lattice defects, modulated structures and poorly crystalline materials, seen by electron scattering. Tutorials will be given in small groups and interactive manner in order to encourage active discussions. A poster session gives students a possibility to present their research to the lecturers as well as to other participants.

As last but not least point it should be mentioned that active evening program facilitating free communication of students from different countries and also the lecturers should not be underestimated, and is in many cases a basis for fruitful scientific collaboration in the future.

*Initially the school was planned to be held in Duga Uvala. During the final stage of the organization procedure it had to be relocated to Poreč.

Local Organizers

Nenad Tomašić (

Marijana Đaković (

Composition of the International Program Committee

Philippe Boullay, CRISMAT, Caen, France,

Tatiana Gorelik, University of Mainz, Germany,

Joke Hadermann, University of Antwerp, Belgium,

Peter Oleynikov, University of Stockholm, Sweden,

Pascal Roussel, ENSC, Lille, France,